Honda TRX 450R banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2006 trx 450er. Stock motor, sparks full exhaust, elka legacy series shocks, and many more boltons!!
466 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m ready to start planning my engine mod. Have a 2006 TRX450er many bolt ons (bought it with 70% of them) I put on the rest. The motor is stock except for full sparks exhaust and jet kit. (Do not know jet sizes) I should look tho lol. I have lots of riding experience been doing it fir 28 years. Lots of crazy stuff in my 20,s with some racing.
Now I just ride trails with half track stuff. I’d like to get good pulling power mid range up to the top without loosing much of the low end if that’s possible (still want to tractor around with my daughter). I still want the Honda reliability so I’m leaning towards no bore or something small 470-490 not sure. What do you guys suggest??
Would like to hear from everyone for options but specifically The Godfather CJM , and hoser both been around a long time and are more knowledgeable then most in my opinion (probably more than my mechanic I now realize) after being on this site and reading all there advice. Hoser you know exactly what I have on my quad bro 😂 I was definitely wrong about legacy 🤭

·
Registered
2006 trx 450er. Stock motor, sparks full exhaust, elka legacy series shocks, and many more boltons!!
466 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Oh and I have an aluminum air box with open ended lid, foam filter (for DUSTY DIRT RIDING) lol. And one of those after market fuel screws.

·
Truck Yea
5,944 Posts
depends on how big you wanna go. if your looking for reliable dont do a big bore, they last if maintained but it is a bit costly to do properly.

If you want to build it then Id suggest a 470 kit with a good pump gas piston, a ported and redone head and a boyesen quick shot or RD float bowl. that will make some nice power and be reliable.

·
Registered
466 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·