Honda TRX 450R banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok in a couple of weeks im gonna try picking up a 450r. And im wondering what oil i should use with the weather here. During summer its usually 75-95 degrees, and winter anywhere from 5 below-50 degrees. Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks. jeff

·
Registered
5,964 Posts
I'm no expert ... desert_450r will probably reply later and show us all up with a post that tells you exactly what to use, including brand (he knows more about oils alone than I know about myself) ...

But - I think you would be ok with some 10w40 (I'm assuming you mean in the engine side ... not the tranny) Now its time to tell him the right oil Dez :D Oh, welcome to the site and good luck with the R B) (If you do a search you might be able to find an answer to this question)

-Zack-

·
Registered
3,775 Posts
Yea i would run a 10w 40 or 10w 30, we just went thru oils and crap in our shop class, and i was told that there are a few simple things to follow by, this is wat i was told:

Once you decide to run one brand of oil, always keep runnin the same brand and also the same weight oil, if you dont there are different additves to all oils, wich can cause oils to breakdown earlier then designed to. Also by swithcing weights bewtween the same brand, or any other brand for that matter can lead to having a wieght in the middle, and not the one you added, since u will never has 100% of the oil outta the engine without ripping it apart and clening it out in gaz or similar.

Now if you live in alaska, just because the bike comes with 10w30, i wouldnt run it, since the temp is always cold you would wanna run a 10w 20 or similar( i believe this is the oil designed for cooler temperatures) now if ur out in texas per say, and its always 70 or hiher your gonna wanna run always 20w50.