Honda TRX 450R banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, here is my problem. 450 got hard to impossible to start when it was cold, but would start easy when it was warmed up. so we checked carb and it was fine, checked spark and it was good. next we checked the valves and decomp. exhaust valves are within spec but the intake valves are so tight you cant get even a 2 thousanths feeler in there. now im not an expert on this, but why would valves tighten up? shouldnt they get looser? Oh, and its an 06 450er with stock motor.

HELP!!

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
And you can crank it over and it will spit alittle blue flame out the exhaust every few turns. any help would really be a lifesaver.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Thats just the nature of the R. Mine had the same exact symptoms as you have . I scratched my head for a while then decided to adjust the valves. Opened it up and the intake valves were too tight. I adjusted them and the starting problem and popping went away. With your bike at idle it may hesitate at in a transition to wide open throttle as well. All of it should return to normal once you adjust the valves.:sweatingbullets:

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
i just talked to the previous owner and he said that he never adjusted them. so, im tight on both intake valves. one is 60 thousanths and one is 62 thousanths. anyone good at math and metric conversions?

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
also, isnt it strange that the exhaust valves were in spec and the intake valves are tight?

·
Registered
37 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
just bought the whole shim kit! 141 shims! it will live again!

·
Registered
25 Posts
i just talked to the previous owner and he said that he never adjusted them. so, im tight on both intake valves. one is 60 thousanths and one is 62 thousanths. anyone good at math and metric conversions?