Honda TRX 450R banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1,510 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am hunting for a set of skids for my new TRX. I found a good deal on an AC chassis skid that is an 1/8 inch thick. If I will be desert, woods, and dune riding is an 1/8 inch skid going to be good enough for the chassis? I am going to go with the AC racing skid .190 thick and I think that feels pretty thick.... but that may be over kill for the chassis. I am new to quads so I am sure I will have TONS of dumb questions just like this one :D

Thanks
- Dave

·
Registered
1,372 Posts
I have the PRM swingarm skid and would HIGHLY recomend it. I had a AC Racing swingarm skid and it was JUNK in comparison. 4 of the 6 mounting holes didn't line up and overall quality was $hit!!!! I mounted a 3/16 skid and ride in rocks an such all the time and have had no problems. I also have a PRM 3/16 chassis skid that I run if I know I will be in a rocky area. I don't run it in the sand locally because there is no need.

PRM all the way in my opinion!!!!!!

·
Registered
263 Posts
well i have armidillo a arms and ac engine skids and they are holding up pretty good, but i did go with a .250 prm swingarm skid. i would go with prm

·
Registered
314 Posts
I was thinking about going with Pro Armor myself. I have yet to hear a bad thing about their skids.

·
Registered
1,996 Posts
Originally posted by WhiteZee+Jul 26 2004, 07:46 PM-->
<!--QuoteBegin-clutch
@Jul 25 2004, 01:30 AM

PRM all the way in my opinion!!!!!!
ac is junk. [/b]
i agree...i had some ac for my 400ex & the bolts didnt really mountup right & the bolts they did give me were like an inch long so that whenI screwed the lower ones in the screwswent into my bearing carrier & put huge holes into it

·
Registered
315 Posts
I've run PRM on 3 different machines and can not say enough good about their product. I've used everything but their a-arm guards and it is all awesome.

·
Registered
30 Posts