Honda TRX 450R banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was out on the quad today and it shut off on me. When I went to restart it, it wouldn't turn over, I smelled a strong odor of gas, when I looked, it was pouring out of the overflow. I never got the quad started. What do i do guys??

·
Registered
10,711 Posts
what ^ he ^ said...

sometimes...if jumping real hard... this will happen w/o being a float issue.......

but if you were just riding......and gas started pouring out the overflow..... its either a stuck float.....or more likely.... some debris stuck under the needle/seat......

easy fix actually........

jmho.....me~

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
sorry guys, i am a newbie here and just got my quad 1 month ago. i have no idea how to do this....any illustrations or help would be greatly appreciated...thanks

what ^ he ^ said...

sometimes...if jumping real hard... this will happen w/o being a float issue.......

but if you were just riding......and gas started pouring out the overflow..... its either a stuck float.....or more likely.... some debris stuck under the needle/seat......

jmho.....me~[/b]

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
sorry guys, i am a newbie here and just got my quad 1 month ago. i have no idea how to do this....any illustrations or help would be greatly appreciated...thanks

okay guys, i tapped on the side and bottom of the carb...problem solved, thanks!!

what ^ he ^ said...

jmho.....me~[/b]
[/b]

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
you can LIGHTLY tap on the bottom of the carb, where the bowl is to try and unstick the float.[/b]

WELL, I WENT TO RIDE TODAY. I TURNED ON THE GAS AND YOU GUESSED IT, GAS EVERYWHERE. i tried tapping on the carb, it stopped but started again when i began riding!!! What's next??

·
Registered
10,711 Posts
two choices...

first/easiest..... drain your fuel bowl..... completely.....then re-fill, and perform this procedure again...