Honda TRX 450R banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well i put my main jet in(180) and my air main blockoff plug in but couldn't get the two screws out to change the jet needle. I didn't have the size screw driver i needed and hope i didn't mess them up to bad where i can't get them out with the right size! What exactly does the jet needle do? I'm new to these carbs and am not sure but if i was to guess it helps let more fuel in to the carb? So i read in the manual that the original jet needle is set at the 3rd clip and that is what the dynojet kit said to set their jet needle at. Is there any difference in using the dynojet needle over the factory?

·
Registered
733 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Mine was a pain in the rear to get out. I ended up using a Snap-On #1 Pozidriv screwdriver, and dipped the tip of the driver into valve grinding compound. The valve grinding compound is an old mechanic's secret and a tech article I read in Motor magazine many years back said that it gives you 800%, you read it right eight hundred percent better bite on the heads of screws. I talked to DynoJet's tech line before I made the attempt and they said it has to be done with their jet kit. Once I got it apart, I went to a fastener warehouse and got the very knowledgeable old gentleman who runs the place to source me two of the same type screws with allen heads. I did the same for the four screws that hold the carb top cover on.

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
RedDogg thanks for the article that helps me out TREMENDOUSLY! DiesilB59 where did you get the valve grinding compound at? Parts store or machine shop I guess? Also I went and bought a #1 screwdriver but what exactly is a Pozidriv screwdriver,never heard of that type. I will be changing over to an allen head type screw when I get them out!

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter #5