Honda TRX 450R banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
He guys I am new to the 450r scene, but I love my machine so far! I have a few questions and I'm sure i'll have more time come in the time to come...

1) Taking the silencer out, do I need to re-jet now or if I plan on getting a K&N air filter later on, is that when I would re-jet? (meaning is it okay to take the spark arrestor now without a re-jet before I put in a K&N?)

2) Oil filters from Honda ar like $11.97. My buddy got a k&N oil filter, is that alright to use?

Any suggestions would be appreciated. I've roamed around the site and have found a few "how-to" threads, but would love any advice thrown my way..

·
Registered
1,093 Posts
you shouldnt have to rejet if you just take the spark arrestor out...... its when you ad the air filter (i believe that is that way it works right guys)

as for the oil filter yeah there expensive, i just ordered a reusable on for like 50 dollars basically it should pay for itself in 5 oil changes..... should be worth the money lol

also welcome to the forum !

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
you shouldnt have to rejet if you just take the spark arrestor out...... its when you ad the air filter (i believe that is that way it works right guys)

as for the oil filter yeah there expensive, i just ordered a reusable on for like 50 dollars basically it should pay for itself in 5 oil changes..... should be worth the money lol

also welcome to the forum ![/b]

Thanks... anyone else?

·
Premium Member
1,338 Posts

also welcome to the forum ![/b]

Thanks... anyone else?
[/b]
I've run the "hiflo-filtro" oil filters for 2 years now with no problems. About $3 apiece.

Personally I don't like the reusable filters, mainly because they are made of metal mesh, which can make it more difficult to spot
metal shavings from the engine that can be stuck to the filter. But if you're careful and take your time inspecting the re-usables, they
will be fine.