Honda TRX 450R banner

2007 TRX450r Concerns from new owner

4K views 33 replies 12 participants last post by  grown_sexy 
#1 ·
I'm not sure if this is the correct area to post this. I'm new to the sport and website. I've been riding motorcycles all my life. This is my first quad. I purchased a 07 for about $1500. The guy lied and said it only needed a strong battery thats why it wont fire up. He was able to start it,rode it in front of me,i went to ride it,hit the throttle and it cut off. we didn't let it warm up long and it was cold out. it fired up again but after that i agreed to buy it.
I was thinking it started so hey it cant be all that bad. I had it diagnosed by a home repair shop not certified but knowledgeable. the carbs appear to be ok, the starter clutch ok,starter is fine but wont be for long if i continue to hold it in until it decides to fire up.it will fire up but takes a while holding in the starter.i've ridden it off road and thought it was fine other than starting it.sometimes its not as long.
things noticed from diagnosis:
*front sprocket chain cover missing (also noticed jb well in the area like where a chain hit it)
*font caliper piston broke(i replaced it for $15)
*rear brake pads(were worn down to metal -i replaced them)
*front tires (replaced both for 100 pair dunlops off craigs)
*mechanic opened the top of the engine,cam looks good and timing is fine but the valves have no clearance (fee will be $110)
*radiator fan wired to run when switch turns on(mechanic said piece to fix that is about $70)
*while doing oil change i was told it only had about 1/3 of oil in it(oil was drained and after minutes it was black again)i was told that this is a sign of hard riding and gears could be getting worn.
i thought after getting a valve job i would be in the clear but after the oil change i was told that i may want to just sell it and break even.they say it was ridden hard from signs like this.