Honda TRX 450R banner

Proud new owner ORcoast

657 views 2 replies 3 participants last post by  hoser 
#1 ·
Noob here, recently upgraded from my 400ex to a 06 450er, so I'm leaving my old forum to come roll with the big dogs! Live in Coos Bay, OR 5 mins from the dunes, been riding them since I was 10 and highly recommend everyone try to ride here at least once!

Im loving this bike but it is killing me.....
For those who care I bought the bike off of craigslist, found A guy in Eugene Oregon (2 hrs away) Advertising "low hours, very clean, one previous owner, HRC kit, starter clutch recently replaced'. He Wanted $2800 for it so I made the drive to check it out. It looked very Clean, though the plastics pretty scratched it had almost no rust and no corrosion, which to us on the coast is unseen with all the salt and moisture. I had him start it for me and fired up with no odd sounds from the starter clutch and idled great. Said had been garaged and maintained and looked the part.
I asked him about the new starter clutch kit and he said his buddy has a shop and works on them all the time and has a stronger one than OE Honda part he puts in them. Long story short I went for it Figured it started up no problem and looked Great had only had non ethanol ever ran through it.

Got it, home took it out To the sand and road about 3 miles with my buddy And stopped to let the Bikes cool. Went to Start again, Heard a terrible crunch noise, And all you could hear Was the starter free spinning after that.
My buddy tows me back the a mile with a 6' tie rope sandblasting my face the whole time Until we could finally get him To a spot for enough traction with his tuned up banshee To allow me to bump start it. I Was pretty bummed out, Got it home again tooka off the starter, Bench tested it and no problem, Opened the case, and found the starter clutch was sheared and was free spinning.