replacing rear axle bearings? - Honda TRX Forums: Honda TRX 450R Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-10-2009, 04:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
TRX90 Rider

hey guys im a newbie to the site, but i gotta say... i love it. i ride a stock 07 450r its nothing special but its my baby... but here is my problem

so i was riding some trails a while back and noticed a growling coming from the rear axle. (07 450r) at first i thought it was just sand and dirt caught up in the sprocket and chain, but after washing it and rinsing it out really good, it still made the noise so im pretty sure my bearings ar shot, however ive got some questions about tearing it down to replace them.

i can remove my caliper, rear wheels etc. but from there i dont really know where to go... is it nessesary to remove the cotterpin and castle nut on the hubs?

are any of the nuts left handed threads, and if so wich side? any one with an overall knowledge of how this thing comes apart could help would be greatly appreciated. pics are helpfull too (if you have any)
todyloc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-10-2009, 06:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
300EX Rider

Oh Oh - I hope your bearing carrier isn't all chewed up. The only left handed threads are on the axle locknut. You can go to this link and download the service manual for the 06 which is the same as the 07.

http://www.trx450r.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=29267

But yes, you have to remove hub from rotor side of axle, loosen up axle lock nut, remove stopper snap ring, chain, and chain guide. Then remove rear capliper, slide off rotor, and then slide axle out of bearing carrier. Then remove the large snap ring, large o-ring and caliper holder. Now slide bearing carrier out of the swingarm. Replace bearings and dust seals, and reassemble. Make sure to grease the seals and o-rings as you are reassembling it so you don't ruin any of them. Good Luck
dyechainsaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2009, 11:44 PM   #3 (permalink)