Honda TRX 450R banner

So wth is the problem now? Not starting

6K views 51 replies 8 participants last post by  morgan 
#1 · (Edited)
07 450er. - New starter and new start clutch. Did I put something back on wrong or forget something? Just turns. Tries to back fire if I turn too long so I know it's getting fuel. Tried with choke on and off. Battery charged for 8hrs. Attached short vid link

#3 ·
Could the decompressor be too tight, seem to start strong, but I don't hear a whole lot of compression

Did you try to turn the engine both ways, sometimes you get a reversed sprag and it locks both ways, then the starter drags the engine down.
Changed mine yesterday, that would be the 4th I change on 06-07 models

#5 ·
Did you mean the valves? I know it's doesn't always mean anything. But before I changed the starter clutch I could get it to start and run good. But the back firing could have threw the valves off huh. I'm new to small engines. I normally work on automobile motors. I have noticed the mechanics on the two are about the same. Thanks for your help. Your information last time was a big help.

#6 · (Edited)
It's the arm on the cam tower with a 8mm bolt and a flat screw that bleeds the compression to allow the starter to trun the engine, must be right exhaust clearance (0,011 typical) + 0,010 in so around 0,021 depending of the ex clearance measurement.
It's not related to the work you have done, unless the valves have been adjusted.

The engine will turn both ways, but the starter and gears should turn only counter clockwise not clockwise (from the clutch side of course).

#10 ·
Measure valve lash first, no bacfires can mess valve clearances and decomp, but it's the most common cause of no start. It must be done anyway.
Make sure you have spark, fuel and that the starter is not dragging while the engine turn clockwise by itself.

#12 ·